top of page

Hess Lake Improvement Board - HLIB

The Hess Lake Improvement Board - HLIB consists of five people. These five people have legal authority to make decisions on behalf of lake residents, including taxing authority for any lake project they deem necessary. The three lake representatives are appointed positions, with the other two elected. Please see the attached PDF for a complete description of the HLIB responsibilities. I would encourage lake residents to attend the three yearly meetings plus any special meetings. Please see Public Meeting Notice date, time and location of meeting listed below.

The Hess Lake Improvement Board launched a new website on September 1, 2023 that will be managed by Progressive AE. Looks like a nice website. Hess Lake Tax Payers paid $5,000 for this new website with an additional $1,500 per year maintenance fee.

Hess Lake Improvement Board - HLIB Representatives

Dale Twing - Newaygo County Drain Commissioner - Elected Position - - 231-689-7213

Ken Delaat - Lake Resident - District 5 Commissioner - Elected Position


Bart Calvi - Lake Resident - Brooks Township Representative - Appointed Position

Mark Slocum - Lake Resident - Grant Township Representative - Appointed Position

Grant Bryan - Lake Resident - Hess Lake Improvement Association Representative - Appointed Position 


Note: The Hess Lake Improvement Board (HLIB) and Hess Lake Improvement Association (HLIA) are completely different organizations.

Lake Board Description
Lake Board Manual

Thanks to the Michigan Chapter North American Lake Management Society for this Lake Board Manual.

bottom of page